Showing posts with label Product Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Review. Show all posts

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Follow Your Heart Cheddar Vegan Gourmet

Thanks to the awesome people at Follow Your Heart for sending me their Cheddar Vegan Gourmet cheese alternative to review. Follow Your Heart makes dairy alternatives and vegan salad dressings.

This cheese is so yummy. It's a bit softer than regular cheese and doesn't melt as well, but it is very close to the real thing... I LOVED the cheddar that they sent me. Yummy!

Nutritional info: One ounce block (28 grams) has 70 calories, 7 grams fat, 2 grams carbs, o grams sugar, 1 gram protein.

Ingredients: (vegan, gluten free, dairy free) Filtered Water, Non-GMO Expeller-Pressed Canola Oil, Natural Flavor (contains Autolyzed Yeast), Tofu (Soybeans, Calcium Sulfate), Inulin (Chicory Root Extract), Non-GMO Soy Protein, Agar Agar, Sea Salt, Nutritional Yeast, Carrageenan (Vegetable Source), Lactic Acid (Vegetable Source), Annatto. Contains: Soy





Sunday, July 17, 2011

Clif Bar (Thank you!)

Thanks to my friends at clif bar for sending me a chocolate brownie clif bar for my birthday. I was pleasantly surprised to see these in my mailbox... I love them :)

Clif bars taste awesome. There is a flavor I have YET to try that I didn't like... The chocolate brownie tastes like a brownie (guess that's why they named it that). :)

One bar has 240 calories, 4.5 grams fat, 1.5 grams fat, 0 grams trans fats, 45 grams carbs, 5 grams fiber, 23 grams carbs and 9 grams protein... and they tase delicious :)

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Sun Food "Wild Jungle Peanut Butter" Review

Note: Sun food sent me some yummy wild jungle peanut butter to sample. It was delicious- but then again, can peanut butter ever taste bad? :) I highly recommend this extra nutritious peanut butter. Thank you Sun Food!

As you can see from the jar, the ingredient list is minimal:

Ingredients:
- organic amazonian jungle peanuts
- organic brazil nut oil
- himalayan pink sea salt

Sun Food specializes in selling organic, raw foods and superfoods. In addition, they also sell supplements and minerals, herbs and teas, cleansing and detox, healthy and beauty and juicers and appliances. Their website is very informative as well. It features a live chat, in case you have questions. It also features recipes and videos on superfoods. Be sure to check it out.

Foods sold include some of my favorites: coconut oil, nuts and seeds, nut and seed butters, cacao butter, dried fruit, hemp products, energy bars, oils, raw cereal, sea snacks... and much more!



This peanut butter is very smooth. I normally like crunchy, but this is a good topping on my veggies since it's like a sauce.



I used it as a topping on my turnip fries with cinnamon! Yum! :)



Wednesday, June 29, 2011

"If You Care" Products

Thank you to If You Care for sending me a (VERY!) generous sample of their environmentally friendly products to review. These are just like regular items that we use, only more safe for the environment... and for you. For instance, in their baking paper, they use silicone coating (non-organic natural product), as opposed to Quilon, which is a heavy metal that, when incinerated, becomes toxic and leaves trace elements. In addition, silicone can be used several times. So, although it might be pricier, it is worth the investment!

Be sure to check out If You Care!

If You Care Products are:
· 100% unbleached paper products
· 100% recycled aluminum foil which can be used over and over again
· All manufactured materials are made from renewable resources
· Only vegetable-based inks are used for printing and graphics
· All packaging materials are made from recycled paper
· Landfill safe paper products
· Biodegradable paper products

They have the following items:
- Aluminum foil - 100% recycled!
- Coffee filters- comes in the following sizes: No. 2, No. 4, No. 6, No. 102, and Basket
- cheese cloth- (homemade Greek yogurt to come)
- firelighters - 100% Biomass, made from wood and vegetable oil
- cooking twine- no artificial fibers, endures up tot 484 degrees/ 250 degrees celsius, landfill safe and biodegradable and microwave safe.
Baking Products- no greasing is necessary as it's coated with 100% silicone (non organic, natural) and all items are 100% unbleached!
- Parchment paper
- Baking paper in sheets
- Baking cups- microwave safe!




Saturday, June 25, 2011

Umpqua Oats

Many thanks to Umpqua Oats for sending me samples of their "not guilty" oatmeal to sample. I feel like this product was made for me :) As much as I love to cook, I love convenience during the week, since I am always running late to work and rush around the hosue like a manwoman in the morning. These bowls are perfect. I usually eat breakfast at work (since that allows me extra sleep in the morning), so these are awesome to throw in my bag and make when I get to work.

"Not guilty" oatmeal is awesome!! I love that the ingredients are simple and clean. No added sugars.

Umpqua Oats "Not guilty" Oatmeal is:
* all natural
* simple ingredients: oatmeal, chia seeds, flax, apples, blueberries (that's it!)
* no added sugar
* Very nutritious: One bowl has 220 calories, 6 grams fat, 0 grams trans fat, no cholesterol, no sodium, 35 grams carbs, 8 grams fiber, 4 grams sugar and 8 grams protein.

This is top quality. I highly recommend that you try these bowls :)

They have other flavors too, including:
* Kickstart- nuts, fruit and a dash of brown sugar
* Lei'd back- cashews, macadamia nuts, coconut and papaya
* Monkey bars- chocolate, peanut butter and coconut (whoa!)
* Mostly sunny- dried fruits from the northeast
* Old school- granny smith gone wild! (apples, cranberries, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts and almonds
* R U nuts?-walnuts, almonds, flax, sunflower seeds and a dash of brown sugar
* Take a hike- NW hazelnuts, pumpkin seeds, and apricots




Arnold's Healthfull Bread

Every time I see an email from Arnold Bread I get excited because I know yummy bread is coming my way :) This time they offered to send their new "healthfull" bread. This bread is delicious! As soon as I opened the bag, it smelled so good! It has a rich, nutty flavor. So yummy! Thank you Arnold! :)

One slice only has 80 calories, but has 5 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber! Only 2 grams sugar, 1 gram of fat and no cholesterol!

There are three flavors to choose from:
* nutty grain (the flavor they sent me) - highly recommended!
* hearty wheat
* 10 grain



And the slices are big!

Friday, June 17, 2011

Kitchen Table Bakers Parmesan Crisps (Product Review)

Thanks to Kitchen Table Bakers for sending me samples of their Parmesan Crisps to sample. OMG, these are delicious! They are ENTIRELY made of cheese. You can eat them plain (I inhaled 1/2 the bag); on top of soup/ salad, or dipped in any topping. I definitely recommend these!

Flavors include: Italian herb, flax seed, aged parmesan, garlic, sesame, rosemary, everything, Jalapeno.

These are a great no-carb alternative to crackers!

Parmesan: As soon as I opened the bag, I got a big whiff of parmesa cheese: yum! The crisps were more bite sized.

* One serving has: 80 calories, 6 grams fat, < 1 gram of carbs, no sugar and 7 grams of protein. There are no trans fats!

* The ingredient size is simple! Pasteurized part skim milk, cheese cultures, salt and enzymes.

Everything: this was equally as delicious. It has a strong garlicy-oniony smell, which I loved :) These were a bigger size (Like the size of a ritz cracker).

Ingredients: Pasteurized Part Skim Milk, Sesame Seeds, Poppy Seeds, Garlic, Minced Onions, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Non-Animal Rennet.




Parmesan:





Everything:


Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Quorn Products (Product Review)

Thank you to Quorn for sending me the following meatless products to test. As you might remember before, I tried their turk'y burgers and loved them. Although I am noy vegeterian, these are a great, high protein alternative to chicken.

From their website: Quorn™ is the brand name of a premium line of all-natural, meat-free frozen foods. The Quorn brand has been sold in the UK since 1985, and since that time has become the #1 retail brand of meat-free foods in the world! And since its US launch in 2002, Quorn products have become the best-selling frozen meat-free brand in natural food stores*! You can depend on Quorn products to always be meat-free and soy-free.

The principal ingredient in all Quorn products is mycoprotein (“myco” is Greek for “fungi”). The mycoprotein comes from Fusarium venenatum, which was originally discovered growing in a field in Buckinghamshire, England. In the late 1960s, initial product development began, soon recognizing mycoprotein’s potential as an efficient and nutritious protein source.

Quorn Naked Chik'n Cutlets
Great to saute, bake, microwave and grill! So versatile and convenient, the Quorn Naked Cutlet goes from the freezer straight to the oven with no thawing required! Great for chicken-style salad, casseroles, chicken-style parmesan and more!

One cutlet has 80 calories, 2.5 grams fat, 0 grams trans fats, 11 grams protein, 5 carbs, and 2 grams fiber.

Quorn Chik'n Tenders
For best results cook from frozen. Substitute Quorn Chick'n Tenders for boneless skinless chicken breast in your favorite recipes for healthy and meat-free meals. Sauté, bake, grill or microwave Quorn Chik'n Tenders as you would chicken or other similar meatless products. Quorn Chik'n Tenders may be used directly from the freezer. Cook until just heated through. Great for casseroles, stir fries and fajitas.

One serving has 80 calories, 10 grams protein, 9 grams carbs, 4 grams fiber, 1 gram sugar, 2 grams fat.

Quorn Turk'y Roast
The delicious Quorn Turk'y Roast is excellent as a center-of-the-plate entree, as well as sliced up for sandwiches, on salad and chopped up in a casserole.

One serving has 90 calories, 14 grams protein, 9 grams carbs, 5 grams fiber, 0 grams trans fats, 1.5 grams fat.

Monday, February 22, 2010

Whooha Gear T-shirts (Product Review)

Thanks to Whooha Gear for sending me one of their running shirts to review.

I LOVED this shirt! It is very comfortable and made of high quality material. They use dri-balance technology, which I love because I HATE to sweat. Dri-Balance optimizes the transport of moisture from skin to the surface of the garment, 6-10 times faster than other wicking garments. My favorite part of the t-shirt was the logo: "gotta run." These shirts are perfect for running. I highly recommend them.

From their website: "Inspire yourself...that is the goal Whooha Gear has set for you! Started by two women athletes, Whooha Gear provides athletic wear made for women by women. Our shirts and accessories have inspirational sayings for athletes that range from runners, climbers, triathletes, cyclists, hikers and much, much more."

In addition, whooha gear sells, many other athletic accessories and clothes. For more information, visit whooha at http://www.whoohagear.com/.



Thursday, February 18, 2010

Measure Up Bowls (Product Review)

Thanks to Heather from Measure Up Bowl for sending me the following "portion control in a bowl" bowls to sample. These are very creative bowls. They have pre-measured portions on the interior of the bowl so you know how much you are eating and can measure the foods without having to use measuring cups. Quick, easy and convenient! They are porcelain and dishwasher safe!

You can read Heather's personal story of her weight loss and how she came up with the idea of these bowls here.

There are two size bowls: Classic and Small
-Classic: 1/2 cup to 2 cup portions
- Small: 1/4 cup, 1/2 cup and 3/4 cup portions

I used it with my oats this morning. Great idea Heather and a great product!!!

For more info, visit http://shopmeasureupbowl.com/. In addition to bowls, Heather also sells journals as well.





Don Sabrosa Salsas (Product Review)

Note: Thanks to Don Sabrosa for sending me a generous number of their ALL NATURAL gourmet salsa's to review. These are delicious! I love their unique flavors! I also loved how thick the salsa's were. (see second picture below). You will definitely see these in many of my meals. I highly recommend them.

They have 6 jars of salsa that they sell, with three main flavors (hot and mild versions):
- Blueberries, Peaches and Honey (hot and mild)- this was my favorite! It's nice and sweet. This unqiue blend of blueberries, peaches, and honey takes salsa to a new sweet and savory level that makes it truely one of a kind
- Black Bean and Corn (hot and mild)- Our latest delicious recipe. Taking a bold approach to salsa, this robust blend brings the true nature of salsa to your taste buds.
- Roasted Garlic (hot and mild)- A full flavored, rich compilation of the traditional salsa ingredients. A thick and chunky blend of everything you could hope for from a salsa.

From their website: "Using all natural ingredients, we produce the highest quality gourmet products that deliver great taste. Taking a unique blend of top grade fruits, herbs, and vegetables our salsas have been winning acclaim from people everywhere."

Who We Are
The Don Sabrosa Salsa Company is characterized as a developer of unique snack products catering to the discriminating consumer who demands a high degree of creativity and quality. We are striving to be recognized as a highly visible company in the gourmet snack food marketplace. We will continue to introduce products aimed directly at industry standard product brands and will become known for high quality, consistently great tasting, and healthy snack products.
For more info, visit www.donsabrosa.com





Monday, February 15, 2010

Fiber Gourmet (Product Review)

Note Thanks to Fiber Gourmet for sending me the following pastas and cheese snacks to review. I was a huge fan of the pasta. I couldn't tell the difference between Fiber Gourmet's pasta and regular pasta.

Rotini:
2 ounces (56 grams) has 130 calories, 18 grams fiber, 1 gram fat, 42 grams carbs, 2 grams sugar, and 6 grams protein.

Ingredients for Classic pasta (all shapes): Durum Semolina Flour, Modified Wheat Starch, Wheat Gluten

When I first read the labels, and being the accountant I am, I thought the math didn't add up. 1 gram fat =9 calories + 42 grams carbs (*4 calories per gram)= 168 calories + 6 grams of protein * 4 = 24 calories. 9 + 42 +6 = 201 calories, almost the same in pasta. However, they subtract out the fiber, which is 72 calories (18*4). Therefore, there's the 130. In the United States, it is perfectly legal to subtract out fiber from total calorie count. I noticed a lot of companies are making this trend, including fiber one cereals.

wesbite description: "Put pasta back in your diet with FiberGourmet! Our pasta has the same color, taste, and texture as standard pasta, but 40% fewer calories! It also provides an unprecedented 18 grams of fiber per serving, much more than whole wheat pasta (which has a mere 5g), or anyone else on the market for the matter - and it's backed up by actual lab analysis."

It's:
- non GMO
- made in the USA from all US ingredients
- no artificial colors or flavors
- no inulin, polydextrose, or other polyols.

To learn more about the Rotini, visit here: http://www.fibergourmet.com/Rotini.aspx


Saturday, February 13, 2010

Feetures (Product Review)

Wow, marathon training day 1 was a big success.... 15 miles! I haven't run that long since last year's marathon! Other than shoes, the best item for success in running are SOCKS!

So, I wanted to tell you about a new brand of socks that were sent to me to try and I love them. FEETURES sent me a pair of socks to review.

From their wrbsite: "Feetures! socks are designed to provide the ultimate in sock performance. With their ability to contour to each individual foot, their perfect amount of compression to gently hug the foot and The PerfectToe™ construction that eliminates toe-seam irritation – Feetures! performance socks are so unique they truly deserve their trademarked exclamation point!"

They have three varieties:
1.) Feetures original (I tried these)
2.) Feetures light
3.) Feetures bamboo and wool.

to see locations where you can buy, visit here.

I am not sure if you can tell from the picture below , but they were very thin, which are great for socks because thin socks reduce the risk of getting blisters... and as they mentioned above, they "hugged" my feet, but didn't cut off my circulation. They were just so comfortable. PERFECT for marathon training and running. Thank you Feetures! I love the socks :)



I have tiny feet.



Friday, February 12, 2010

Foods Alive Product Review

Thank you to FOODS ALIVE for sending me the following products to sample. Foods Alive sells organic flax crackers (in many flavors, including BBQ, maple and cinnamon, mustard, mexican harvest and many more!); organic flax and hemp oil dressings; and many organic superfoods, including hulled hemp, jungle peanuts, maca powder, cacao powder, chia seeds, goji berries and mesquite powder.



They sent me the following:

Raw Hemp Seed: oh wow, I am addicted to these. They taste like soft sesame seeds. You can put them in salads, on veggies, in yogurt, cottage cheese, on meat, anything! I love them on my peanut butter and veggie stir fries.. So yummy!
2 tablespoons of hemp seed: 84 calories, 7 grams fat, 1 grams carbs, 5 grams fiber, 0 grams sugar, and 5 grams protein.

Original Flax Crackers:
These crackers are high in fiber and protein! I was first attracted by the nutritional stats. Full of omega 3's, no sugar, and has lots of protein! These crackers are sturdy enough to hold their own. They would go perfect with hummus, on their own, with cheese, however you like them. yummy.
5 crackers have: 150 calories, 9 grams fat, 11 grams carbs, 11 grams fiber, 0 grams sugar and 6 grams protein.
97% Organic Ingredients: Golden Flaxseed*, Bragg Liquid Aminos (A non-GMO, wheat-free Soy sauce), Lemon Juice*.*Organic Ingredient

Hemp Flax Crackers:
5 crackers have: 150 calories, 9 grams fat, 10 grams carbs, 8 grams fiber, 2 grams sugar and 5 grams protein.
99% Organic Ingredients: Golden Flaxseed*, Hemp seed meal*, Raw Agave Nectar*, Nutritional Yeast, Raw Apple Cider Vinegar*, Rosemary*, Celtic Sea Salt.

Mike's special golden flax oil:
"The taste is similar to French dressing, but with a nice kick in the pants! " This is a statement from their website and it's so true! It was a bit on the spicy side and it was just so tasty on my salad.
One tablespoon has 75 calories, 7.5 grams fat, 1 gram carbs, 1 gram sugar,
100% Organic Ingredients: Cold-pressed unrefined unfiltered Golden Flaxseed Oil*, Filtered Water, Raw Apple Cider Vinegar*, Raw Agave Nectar*, Garlic*, Paprika*, Celtic Sea Salt, Mustard*, Black Pepper*.*Organic Ingredient

Organic Sweet and Sassy Hemp Oil
1 tablespoon has: 85 calories, 7.5 grams fat, 3 grams carbs, 3 grams sugar
100% Organic Ingredients: Cold-pressed unrefined Hempseed Oil*, Raw Agave Nectar*, Raw Apple Cider Vinegar*, Celery Seed*, Celtic Sea Salt.*Organic Ingredient

I must say, I am so far impressed with all the products.

For more information, visit them here ---> http://foodsalive.com/

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Homemade Chocolate Hummus!

Happy Tuesday Everyone. I just got home from work.

So, last night before I went to bed, I made some macadamia nut butter! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE macadamia nut butter. It's the perfect consistency as a sauce on veggies or on salad as a salad dressing. It's so liquidy. All I did was roast some macadamia nuts in the oven at 300 for about 10 minutes and threw it all int he food processor. I call it my liquid crack :)



This morning's breakfast was oatmeal pancakes and bananas.
- 1/2 cup Nature's Path Oatmeal
- 3 egg whites
- cinnamon
- purevia
- sliced banana

I mixed all the ingredients but the bananas in the magic bullet.


My workout was great! I felt so strong this morning. I ran on the treadmill and worked out my legs:

- treadmill: 6.8-7.0 on treadmill. Ran about 4.70 miles.

- legs: combination of leg extensions, calf raises, and another exercise that worked the hammy's. I forget the name of it.

Breakfast number 2 consisted of a French Meadow Bakery bagel with some butter buds topping. Wow, it was so good. I normally don't eat bagels, but these bagels have only 270 calories and 15 grams of protein each!

I snacked on some chocolate hummus at work. This is the simplest, yet yummiest ever. I ate the whole batch at work! Next time I make it I would like to try it with agave.
Homemade chocolate hummus
- 1/4 cup chickpeas
- 2 teaspoons cocoa powder
- 1/8 cup almond breeze
- stevia
Directions: mix it all up in magic bullet.


I then dove into my macadamia nut butter covered roasted broccoli at work. I roasted the broccoli then drizzled with macadamia.


And then I tried a Kardea Bar that Kardea was very nice to send me to sample. They sent me four flavors to sample:
- banana nut
- chai
- lemon ginger
- cranberry almond
From the website: Kardea enables and empowers people to manage their cholesterol naturally and nutritiously. We celebrate living life well and living life naturally. We create and market the delicious natural foods, quality supplements and educational materials that allow each of us to better manage our cholesterol levels and improve our overall cardiovascular health. We’re committed to a deep and honest understanding of the evolving science supporting natural cholesterol management. To that end, we will actively partner with and support research that furthers the understanding of the power of nutrition to actively improve cardiovascular health.
I tried the banana nut first. It was yummy and very sweet. The texture was very soft and melted in my mouth. One bar has only 150 calories, 5 grams fats, 0 grams trans fats, 21 grams carbs, 7 grams fiber, 11 grams sugar, and 7 grams protein. Thank you again Kardea for sending me these bars.


And then my 5PM snack... one of my fave bars: luna bar white chocolate macadamia! This bar is just so ridculously good.

So tomorrow we are expecting a SNOW STORM! Hope they call off work :) I live about 5 minutes from my work, so I am pretty lucky. Hopefully it won't be too bad. IS IT SUMMER YET?
ok, off to make some dinner... I am thinking macadamia nut butter with veggies :) Big shocker :)
Have a great night everyone.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Arnold's Bread

Note: Thanks to Arnold's Bread for sending me coupons to purchase their bread. Arnold's has so much bread in my shopping market's aisle, it took me forever to narrow down to two. Too bad I didn't visit this site before going to the market. http://www.arnoldbakery.com/Products/Recommender.aspx I decided to go with the double protein and the 100 calorie sandwich thins. I have had the thins before and LOVE them! And they are very popular with the healthy bloggers. The 100% whole wheat thins are one of my top bread choices out there. I wanted to buy TWO of them, but figured I should vary it up a bit....and then the "Double protein" caught my eye. Whenever I see high protein, I get excited :) I had never tried the protein bread before and was a little worried it would taste "off" because of the protein, but I couldn't taste the difference. Tasted like bread! I loved it. You will see these in many meals coming up :)

Double Protein:
This bread was super delicious.
1 slice has:
- 110 calories
- 1.5 grams fat
- 18 grams carbs
- 3 grams fiber
- 2 grams sugar
- 7 grams protein!
- No artificial colors, flavors or preservatives
- No high fructose corn syrup

Whole Wheat thins:
One thin has
- 100 calories
- 1 gram fat
- 21 grams carbs
- 5 grams fiber
-2 grams sugar
- 5 grams protein



Friday Night Recap

WOW, WOW, WOW! I can't believe the nice comments I got regarding the new blog and stuff. Thanks so much to everyone!

First off, let me apologize for this long winded blog entry. I am still tinkering with how I want to set up the new blog and I am not sure if I want to separate the product reviews from the recipes/meals from the workouts. After writing this ridiculously long entry, I decided, I might do a few blog entries per day, one with eats/workout, one with product reviews, and one to talk about my other stuff.

So yesterday was Friday... my favorite day of the week :) Well, favorite workday of the week! And it was even better because my boss let me out early. I came home very late Thursday night, and completely crashed. Normally, no matter how late I come home for work I cook, but this week was a toughie, and I didn't have it in me to stay up late again. I am an accountant, so this is my busy season... so I have been working some late hours.

I got up at 5AM on Friday for my daily workout. I am a "workout first thing in the morning" girl. If I miss my workout, I can be a very unpleasant person. I can't WAIT to tell you about a new product I reviewed while at the gym. I want to try it a few more times before I share it with you. I have tried it twice so far and I love it... I ended up running on the treadmill for 40 minutes and lifting upper body/arms. I hate to admit it, but I have been lifting weights for over a year now and I don't know any of the names of the exercises that I do.... except bicep curl :) I need to learn them so I can continue blogging about them. My new product review will help with that. please stay tuned... I also recently started lifting heavier... well, heavier for me :) I am turning in my 10 pound dumbells for 15 pounds. I actually don't even know if that's good or not. My arms are hurting, so I guess it's good enough for me :)

So, since I didn't cook as many meals as I intended to on Friday, as I was leaving for work, I grabbed two bars that from my stash that were awaiting review. As you might have noticed before, I reviewed The Raw Crunch Bar Chocolate bar back earlier. These bars are very delicious. I grabbed the blueberry flavored. One bar has 150 calories, 10 grams fat, 0 grams trans fats, 10 grams carbs, 5 grams sugar, 5 grams protein.



I also tried these new bars that Zone Perfect sent me to sample for review. Thank you ZonePerfect for sending me these DELICIOUS bars. I know why they call them Indulgence. These were so good. They have chocolate german cheesecake, caramel toffee and chocolate peanut butter mousse. Of course, the first one I tried was the chocolate peanut butter mousse :) It was awesome! Such a great fix for chocoholics. Not only that, but they are all natural, too! One bar has 190 calories, 7 grams of fat, 22 grams carbs, 15 grams sugar, and 10 grams of protein. I am amazed at how good they are. Can't wait to try the other flavors. Next time I will freeze mine before eating it!




I left work Friday around 4 and then went to my sister's house to visit my sister, who owns her own daycare. I must post pics of my niece and nephew, Taylor and Matthew, later. They are just TOO CUTE for words... I am one proud auntie.
When I got home, I made an egg white and roasted kabocha plate with Krema products peanut butter on top. Wow, it was yummy. I actually went to the store beforehand to buy the kabocha. Yes, I admit it. I have roasted kabocha cravings. If you have not jumped on this bandwagon yet, you must try it.
- 1/2 kabocha
- 3 egg whites
- one tablespoon krema products peanut butter.
I roasted the kabocha squash in the oven at 400 for about 40 minutes. Then I made scrambled egg whites separately. And I topped it with my tasty krema products peanut butter.



I also teach CPA courses on the side, and saturday morning I had a class from 8-12, so I spent Friday night prepping for it. I get so nervous before these classes. I hate public speaking, but like the course program I teach, since I used it myself when I was studying. And I feel a sense of accomplishment after each class. PLUS, it's always good to get out of one's comfort zone, right? On that note, I ADMIRE people who are able to speak in front of crowds without any worry.
For dinner, I added a new ingredient to my peanut butter stir fries: refried beans. The super generous people at Amy's Organics sent me a can of refried beans to review. 1/2 cup has 140 calories, 3 grams fat, 22 carbs, 7 grams protein. They were super delicious with my peanut butters, broccoli, carrot, onion and cabbage stirfry. Beans are a great high protein alternative to meat. And they taste awesome with peanut butter. I know, an unlikely combo, but they are delicious. Trust me :)


Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Somersault Cookie and Peanut Butter Stir Fry

Note: These somersault cookies are so delicious. My family ate the two large bags sent to me in one night, but I managed to save two smaller portion sized bags. These tasted awesome in the stir fry, since they are crunchy and salty, but not sweet.

Ingredients:
- cabbages: red, green, napa
- onion
- carrot
- celery
- onion
- soy sauce
- 20 grams somersault cookies
- tablespoon krema products peanut butter

Directions: saute onion and carrot in soy sauce. Add other veggies. Top with crushed somersault cookies and drizzle with peanut butter.



Jocalat Chocolate Cherry Bar (Product Review)

Note: Another Jocalat Bar review... This is another bar I got from the expo. Again, I loved this flavor. Chocolate + Cherry = yum!

website description: The tart, chocolate flavor brings to mind a luscious Black Forest Cake—only this “slice” is packed with natural goodness, including fiber, Vitamin A, flavonoids and phytonutrients. The cocoa is abundant in antioxidants. You’ll also benefit from potassium, magnesium, iron, protein, folic acid, and .5 grams of Omega Fatty Acid and 3 grams of Omega-6 Fatty Acids, which promote a healthy heart. Go ahead—dig in!

Ingredients: organic dates, organic almonds, organic walnuts, unsweetened cherries, organic cocoa powder, and organic unsweetened chocolate.

Nutritional facts: 200 calories, 9 grams fat, 28 grams carbs, 5 grams fiber, 22 grams sugar, 4 grams protein.


Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Nicobella Truffles Review - Part 3

I finished off the last of the nicobella truffles :( The final two, but NOT THE LEAST! were pumpkin chai and ginger green tea. As like the others, these were great. I can't say enough about how good they taste. At only 40 calories a piece! Not even a dent in the diet :) And it's sweet enough to curb any craving, too! Again, MANY thanks to Nicobella for sending me to sample these delicious treats! To learn more about them, visit http://www.nicobellaorganics.com/.

Pumpkin Chai: As you all know by now, I love the pumpkin chocolate combo, and this was great mix. So yummy.

Ingredients: organic pumpkin, organic and fair trade dark chocolate (cocoa beans+, cane sugar+, cocoa butter+, vanilla), organic oat milk, organic sunflower oil, organic raw agave nectar, organic coconut oil, organic pumpkin chai spice mixture (clove, cardamom, nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger), organic sugar garnish

Nutrition Information-1 piece
Calories 40
Carbohydrate 3g
Protein 0.5g
Fat 3g



Ginger Green tea: this is great for you green tea lovers. Ingredients: organic and fair trade dark chocolate (cocoa beans+, cane sugar+, cocoabutter+, vanilla), organic oat milk, organic raw agave nectar, organic ginger, organic sunflower oil, organic coconut oil, organic green tea, organic sugar garnish

Nutrition Information-1 piece

Calories 40

Carbohydrate 3g

Protein 1g

Fat 3.5g